There are 7,641 islands in the Philippines

There are 7,641 islands in the Philippines

Did you know that the country Philippines having 7,107 islands is an outdated fact? Philippines actually has 7,641 islands - not 7,107, as we have always thought.
The Republic of the Philippines is a sovereign state in archipelagic Southeast Asia, with 7,641 islands spanning more than 300,000 square kilometers of territory. It is divided into three island groups: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. The Philippines was named after Prince Philip (later King Philip II) of Spain by the Spanish explorer Ruy Lopez de Villalobos during his 1542-1546 expedition to the islands.

With the advancement in mapping technology, the National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA) was able to confirm that there are over 500 new islands (in the country). NAMRIA utilized Interferometric Synthetic Aperture Radar (IFSAR) to improve detection of land masses and changing land forms.

This new findings was already featured in government official website entitle About the Philippines.
About The Philippines

The Philippines is a unitary presidential constitutional republic, with the President of the Philippines acting as both the head of state and the head of government. It proclaimed its independence from the Spanish Empire on June 12, 1898, following the culmination of the Philippine Revolution. It is a founding member of both the United Nations (UN) and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). It has embassies and consulates in 62 countries around the world.

The country's primary exports include electronics, semiconductors, transport equipment, construction materials, and minerals. As an open economy, the Philippines trades with other economies around the world. It considers Japan, the United States, China, South Korea, and Germany as its top export markets. (SOURCE: